For Guest House Reservations please call: 503-852-0107

The Scriptural Stations of the Cross


Created by Lynne Kiefer Kobylecky

Artist Statement

My commitment to religious art began on a December evening with a vow made on a commercial airline, just before it crashed. I did not know who God was at the time, but he heard my prayer anyway.  As a result of this vow, I have been doing religious art for over 30 years. I want to tell God’s story by merging sculptural images with words of Scripture. I want my sculpture to communicate that God didn’t send his Son into the world to condemn its people, but to save them. The fourth and eleventh Stations of the Cross say this clearly in face to face encounters with Jesus.  The Fourth Station of the Cross shows Peter weeping as he realizes that he has denied even knowing Jesus three times. Peter is devastated by his failure and openly shows it. Jesus does not condemn him, but looks at him with compassion.

The Eleventh Station of the Cross is about the “Good Thief’ who has been condemned to die on the cross next to Jesus. He turns to Jesus and asks him to remember him when He comes into His kingdom. Jesus does not dismiss or eject the “good thief.” Instead he says to him, “Today you will be with me in Paradise.” The sad, unspoken message is that the thief crucified on the other side of Jesus is blinded by pride and misses his salvation. Even as he is dying he rejects and ridicules Jesus.

These two stations speak the message of God’s mercy most clearly to me because Jesus shows compassion and love to two people who have failed. Both are very aware of their need for a Savior, and Jesus is there with them in their darkest hours. He will never condemn anyone who calls on him sincerely. He will rescue them and give them new life now and forever. He will set them free from the grip of sin and death. He will be with them always. That’s what I want to say through my art.

Lynne Kiefer Kobylecky


The Scriptural Stations of the Cross



1-Station1. Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane 


2. Jesus is betrayed by Judas and arrested 


3. Jesus is condemned by the Sanhedrin 


4. Jesus is denied by St. Peter 


5. Jesus is judged by Pontius Pilate 


6. Jesus is sourged at the pillar and crowned with thorns


7. Jesus Bears the Cross


8. Jesus is helped by Simon the Cyrenian to carry the cross


9. Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem


10. Jesus is crucified


11. Jesus promises his kingdom to the good thief


12. Jesus speaks to his mother and the beloved disciple


13. Jesus dies on the cross


14. Jesus is placed in the tomb


Community News & Events

Read all about what's going on at the Trappist Abbey.

60 Years of Solemn Vows

Community News:

On the Feast of Saint Bernard, August 20th – 2017, We honored and celebrated four of our brothers celebrating sixty years...

A Monastic Life Experience: Josh Gross

Community News:

Our July 2017 Monastic Life Participant, Josh Gross, has graciously agreed to share with us an experience from our MLR program....

Easter Triduum – 2017

Easter Triduum 2017

Now that we are firmly established in the Easter season, we can profitably look back and savor, once more, two...